YMCA Governance

YMCA Board of Directors and
Honourary Trustees

YMCA Governance

As a leading charity, the YMCA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. This group of community volunteers provides vision, strategic leadership and stewardship for the Association. The YMCA Board of Directors meets regularly with an Annual General Meeting held every spring.


Meet our Directors

Sonya Fraser


Sonya Fraser is the Managing Partner with EY, where she works with both public and private entities to provide integrated professional services.

Jennifer Berry

Past Chair

Jennifer Berry is an Industrial Technology Advisor at the National Research Council Industrial Research Assistance Program.

Stephen MacDonald

Vice Chair

Stephen MacDonald is the President and Chief Executive Officer at EfficiencyOne and is a relentless champion for the development and growth of the energy efficiency industry in Nova Scotia,

Michelle Bussey

Michelle Bussey is the Executive Director of the Nova Scotia Community College Foundation and Alumni Relations.

Patty Faith

Patty Faith is a seasoned strategic communications and marketing professional with national level experience working with both publicly traded and not-for-profit

Kimberley Gannon

Kimberley Gannon is the Regional Director of Finance with the Federal Government of Canada, Atlantic Regional Office in Halifax, N.S.

Krista Jangaard

Dr. Krista Jangaard is the IWK Health Centre’s President & CEO. She first joined the IWK in 1996 in the division of Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine and

Lora MacEachern

Lora MacEachern is a Senior Government Executive and Lawyer, with extensive experience in leadership, law, human resources, public policy, advocacy

Ayo Makanjuola

Ayo Makanjuola is Chief Financial Officer at Millbrook First Nation.

Ayo holds a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from Babcock University in Ikenne,

Dave Murray

Dave Murray is a local Franchisee with McDonalds Restaurants in Halifax Regional Municipality.

Mary Navas

As Coordinator for the Integrated Marketing team at NATIONAL Public Relations, Mary Navas brings a fresh perspective

Mark Saldanha

Mark Saldanha is the founder and CEO of Greater Love Canada, a national non-profit organization dedicated to empowering young adults across Canada

Jacob Woods

Jacob Woods is a Research Associate at the Nova Scotia Community College. Jacob is skilled in energy system analysis

Sian Wren

Sian Wren is Vice President of Business Transformation at Emera. In this role, she led a large team of internal employees and external

Sarah McInnes

Sarah is a Partner at McInnes Cooper, specializing in Immigration & Employment law.

YMCA Honourary Trustees

The YMCA Honourary Trustees are former Directors who continue to support and provide strategic counsel to the YMCA.

Gregory (Greg) D. Auld, Jennifer Berry, Lydia Bugden, Daniel M. Campbell, Wesley G. Campbell, Peter M. Conrod, Paul J. Dyer, Peter G. Fardy, Lou Gannon, Mary Ellen Gurnham, R.F. (Bob) Healy, Fred Honsberger, Wilfred Jackson, John W. Lindsay Jr., Cliff Langin, Carole McDougall, James MacGowan, Stuart MacLean, R.A. (Rod) McCulloch, Kirk D. McIntyre, Don C. Mills, Robert Richardson, L. Robert (Robbie) Shaw, George Waye, Sarah Young

Honourary Life Members

Audrey Manzer, Rhoda Day & Lou Gannon